blake

Tools needed to get started

I'm looking for a list of tools i will need to start doing my own home security/cctv installs.I'm an electrician so i have a bunch already.What i'm looking for are specifics like this particular kit http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_03460042000P?vName=Tools&cName=Electrical+Shop&sName=Electrical+Tools+%26+Accessories I've already done my own Ademco Vista 20P home security install and i've been bitin by the bug to do more and expand my knowledge.Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Nice little kit! I was going to recommend going with compression connectors over standard two- and three-piece crimp types - way easier to work with, very solid if done properly, and most versions form watertight connections.

Another thing you'll want to look at is tools for doing RJ-45 connections, in case you need to install IP cameras, and/or connect DVRs to a network. A good set of crimpers should be all you really need, as they should have built-in tools for stripping and cutting Cat-5e/Cat-6 cable... or you can go with a complete kit.

You'll also want something in a small portable monitor for aiming and focusing cameras. You can get nice "professional" units designed specifically for CCTV, that have high-resolution LCDs, can output 12VDC for powering cameras, generate a test signal, and have pass-thrus for your camera signal. Those tend to be a bit on the pricier side, though ($300+ range)... for just starting out, you can get a cheap portable DVD player with A/V inputs for well under $100. The screen resolution isn't as high, but they're sufficient for probably 99% of the work you'll do.