GramUK

Avtech 761 image quality

Another newbie here from the UK...(a gadget freak) hello...

Have had the AV761 500gb (SV-35) for 2 months and seem to be on top of setting up etc (all networked and remote viewing via internet is okay) - but just a little disapointed at recorded quality of images. I've 2x IR day/night camera's set up right now (3rd and 4th camera's on order) and are all 480Tv lines PAL.

Playing back recorded images locally (not via the internet) still the images are quite "blocky" . I've tried recording CIF and FRAME but both methods are poor. The frame MJpeg is just about reasonable but only if close to the camera. Is there any way to improve quality of recordings or I guess I'm stuck with this.

Camera's are great until they are converted to MJepg MPeg4 (recorded). I'm tempted to go back to VHS and auto switchers etc. or are there any recommendations for higher resolution recorder?

I thought Mpeg4 was a good format to record?? I'm sure my pioneer DVR on my TV is Mpeg4...

Any thoughts / suggestions?

Wife limiting my budget to < 500 gbpounds

Cheers,

Graeme

hmm...

Either you probably aren't getting a high resolution on all of your channels...or maybe a bad resolution across all channels..

But you said you can get CIF across all channels... maybe you should up it to 4CIF

But I have a feeling your problem is with the cabling... possibly too long of a run?

What type of cable are you using? and how long is the run?

Hi, thanks for the reply...

It may well be the cable / length - this is something that I really was not too confident about in the whole system - it's a combined AV / DC power cable supposedly 75 Ohm. Lengths are around 18 meters to each camera.

The cable is from an older B&W camera / VHS system I had a few years back but never used.